What’s in the drinking water at NYU Law School? It seems like the law school turns out a disproportionate number of legal techies — grads who are involved in one way or another in legal technology.

Whatever the explanation, a number of them will be in attendance Oct. 15 at the second annual presentation of the program, NYU Law & Tech: Impact of Innovation.

Speakers — all NYU Law alumni — will discuss key trends in legal technology and law practice. Speakers include:

  • Alma Asay, founder and CEO of Allegory Law.
  • Marc Canellas, vice chair, IEEE-USA, and cofounder, Rights over Tech.
  • Cassi Carley, founder, Ethical Tech, and cofounder, Rights over Tech.
  • Felicity Conrad, cofounder and CEO, Paladin.
  • Christian Lang, head of strategy, Reynen Court.
  • Chris Martin, lead innovation attorney, Latham & Watkins.
  • Steve Obenski, chief strategy officer, Kira Systems.
  • Jason Schultz, NYU law professor and co-director of the Engelberg Center.
  • Joe Valane, VP and general counsel, Revantage.
  • Aikta Wahi, director of customer relations, PacerPro.
  • Noah Waisberg, cofounder and CEO, Kira Systems.
  • Joshua Walker, chief product officer, Aon IPS, and author of the recently published book from Fastcase, On Legal AI.
  • Aaron Yowell, chief innovation officer, Nixon Peabody.

An organizer of the event, Anna McGrane, cofounder and COO of PacerPro, told me that the program is tied to a broader effort to create a point of connection among NYU Law alumni and others who are interested in legal technology and innovation.

In addition to these alumni sharing a connection to legal tech, many of them also share having had real-world experience practicing law before founding their companies or getting into technology, McGrane points out.

That makes this an opportunity for collaboration not only among those already in legal tech, but also for others who are interested in learning more about technology and its implications for law practice.

The program will be held at Lipton Hall, 108 West 3rd Street, New York, beginning at 6:30 p.m. Registration is free, but only limited seats remain.